A Course in Miracles, and A Return to Love – My Path

Marianne Williamson recently posted to her Facebook followers a passage from her book, A Return to Love: 

“When we surrender to God, we surrender to something bigger than ourselves — to a universe that knows what it’s doing. When we stop trying to control events, they fall into a natural order, an order that works. We’re at rest which a power much greater than our own takes over, and it does a much better job than we could have done. We learn to trust that the power that holds galaxies together can handle the circumstances of our relatively little lives.”

I first met Marianne through attending her workshops on A Course in Miracles during the early-ish part of the AIDS crisis, in the late 80’s – early 90’s, during which time I lost not one but two partners. Through Marianne’s (and others’) support, I got through those troubled times, as did many others I still see around today.

Through the Course, though, I wished to dig deeper into what “religion” was all about, as opposed to “spirituality.” I had always thought of myself as a spiritual person, but I hadn’t attended church since I was little, and even then, not that much. I was looking for something with more historical rootedness, but I didn’t want to abandon my “free spirit” nature. By coming to understand something of the spirit of God in the world around us, and in myself, and in people I liked and people I didn’t like, I was able to approach religion in a nonjudgmental way, that has helped me to become more grounded.

My groundedness comes precisely from that trust that “the universe knows what it’s doing.” Contrary to people who would dismiss religion because it makes people “think they have all the answers,” it instead allows me to separate the imponderables, the unknowables, from the things that I actually DO have to sort out. There’s a certain comfort in knowing that you DON’T have to come up with all the answers.

Leave a Reply

