Wikileaks’ Julian Assange out for glory

Julian Assange seems incapable of listening or learning. I just can’t believe that this one guy continues to believe that he knows best, and that everybody else who layers their communications in “need to know” levels is somehow wrong. I do it, my boss does it, my mother does it, my son does it. What about this does Mr. Assange not get? His gross abuse of confidential information costs enormous amounts of time and effort on the part of the true government officials that we have elected and selected to carry out the tasks of our highest level societal interactions. And in so doing it costs enormous amounts of taxpayer dollars to try to scramble and recover some “face” after this breach. Why is he still free to do so? He, along with those who are passing him this information, should be arrested and tried for treason.

In saying this, do I believe that the USA is the greatest country on earth, that our diplomats are above reproach, that Mr. Assange is obviously wrong because he is attacking our government? Get real! Nothing of the sort!

But seriously, I’m curious to know from those who are going out of their way to decry the American government and to assert that the USA is not the “greatest place in the world”: what IS the greatest place? I think it’s all too easy to get caught up in fantasy imaginings of faraway lands, where “if I were the ruler of the world” thinking solves all the problems in a convenient and obvious way. But seriously, where is this place, what country, what state are you thinking of where they’ve got it right? Where there are no government secrets? Where each and every member of the government is a respected individual, a good communicator on all levels, able to discern real fact from possibly misguided conjecture, and all members work together for the greater good? I will go there in a heartbeat! For now, I’ll take my lumps in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

